What Four Constitutional Court Justices share in common.

Apart from the 4 Constitutional Court Justices being NRM promoters as provided recently, these men and woman are all, until recently, Museveni employees.


Steven Kavuma.

Steven Kavuma is a former minister of State for Defence who was later put on Katebe until he complained and Museveni gave him a job on the bench. He was NRM Member of Parliament for Makindye West in Kampala.


Augustine Nshimye Ssebutuuro.

Augustine Nshimye Ssebutuuro, Mityana district NRM chairman is a former NRM Member of Parliament for Mityana and a former Minister of State for Foreign Affairs and Minister of State, Regional Cooperation. When he lost the Parliamentary Seat in Mityana he was on Katebe and was given a job as a justice by Museveni.


Faith Mwondha

She is the immediate substantive Inspector General of Government (IGG) well remembered for refusing to appear before the Parliamentary Appointment Committee for reasoning that only President Museveni could appoint and disappoint her not Parliament.


Richard Butera

Until recently, Justice Butera was the long serving Director of the Public Prosecutions (DPP). A low profile man from Kisoro who has avoided stocking controversy as the DPP by toeing the government line in execution of his duties.


Would it be by coincidence that the four justices were unanimous in their decision and only Justice Remmy Kasule a career judicial official dissented? We need to keenly read the dissenting judgment of Justice Kasule since it might punch holes in the decision of the former Museveni employees turned Justices.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s